Traditional or Digital Scrapbooking

When I got into scrapbooking, I started with the traditional, not having kids it was easy, I wanted to work on my album, just took everything out and just started. I started plenty of albums, one of me when I was little, one of my and my husband, my pets… I was a SCRAPBOOKER FANATIC. It when I became a Creative Memories Consultant.

A couple of months later, March 2005, I found out I was pregnant; I went crazy with baby albums and sticker and doing my pre-pregnancy pages of my ultrasound and baby shower album.

When my son was born, I got a little harder doing my album but I manage, I had to make sure that he didn’t grab a blade when I wasn’t looking, but I still manage to do his 1st year album. 4 years later in 2009 I gave birth to my second baby, a beautiful baby girl… but want a had full.. Scrapbooking came impossible to do, except at workshop.

This year I decided to try Creative Memories digital scrapbooking software, Storybook creator. It’s more convenient for my life style. I still do the tradition at workshop but at home, it all digital. You might ask what about creativity… surely it’s not the same layout; it won’t be the same…

No it’s true they are not the same, but they are just as beautiful, the possibilities are just as endless!

Traditional Scrapbooking

When doing tradition scrapbooking this are the 3 words you need to remember; Organize, Planning and Space.

Organize: before starting you should organize your photos, we have folders available to help you organize your memories; ee Creative Memorie Power Sort box.

Planning: choosing an Album (8×8 / 8×11 / 12×12) planning your layouts, how many pictures would you like on your page, paper, embellishment, etc.

Space: claiming a work space is the key, maybe a large table you can lay all your tools out on, or a room you can leave everything laying around in for a couple days.

The traditional Scrapbooking outcome is beautiful, creative, and original. When you add the stickers, the ribbons, buttons, the cropping tools, pen and everything else, you have all the elements for a spectacular scrapbooking party with friends. The only drawback is the cleaning up afterwards but that’s the price to pay for good times with friends / family

Digital Scrapbooking

Digital scrapbooking is fairly new. It’s also known as digi-scrapping or computer scrapbooking. It involves the use of digital photos, clip art, graphic textures, and various photo-objects as embellishment, but weather you use traditional or digital; the same goal remains; preserving your memories!

You can combine digital elements into traditional page layouts- or traditional into digital -printing and cutting out digital photos, paper, clip art and journal notes–and pasting them together in a tangible layout. I prefer to work simply with digital content. I like creating my layout entirely on the computer. You can then print the layout and frame it, share the layout by email or on Facebook with Friends, or simply have the album printed.

There are a lot of things I love about digital scrapbooking, you don’t need a lot of space, and you can close it up and pick up where you left off, as quickly as closing you laptop. So if baby wake up, not rushing to put everything away… no paper scraps, scissors, knives. PLUS NO CLEAN UP!

Before Creative Memories came out with its digital collection I had tried a couple of programme out there but didn’t find one that I like. Then I downloaded the free version of Creative Memories Storybook creator and I downloaded the free predesign pages, after a while as much fun as the free version was, it was not enough, so I bought the Storybook creator Plus 3.0. I have to tell you it’s a must, all the thing you can do… cutting, layout, embellishment… stay tune for layout I will be posting to see what the Storybook Creator can do.

Leave a Reply

