10 questions about adoptions


These questions will help you organize your thoughts on a process that may have taken years and still felt like a whirlwind. In this case, we’ve phrased the questions like? (Depending how open your adoption is, consider getting notes, photos and input from the birth parents to answer this question.) Do I have any brothers or sisters? Did my birth family love me? As though they were coming from the child. In fact, for this album, try using these questions literally as page or chapter headings – posing the questions your child will likely want answered and then giving your honest, heartfelt answers.

Remember that each adoption is unique and personal. So realize that you’re going to have to modify these questions to suit your circumstances. But use these questions as a framework and be as open and inclusive as your situation allows! As you read each question, jot down a few thoughts on index cards or on the computer.

  1. Where did I come from? Different city? Different state? Different country? What’s it like there?
  2. What was my birth family? These questions will help you organize your thoughts on a process that may have taken years and still felt like a whirlwind. In this case, we’ve phrased the questions like? (Depending how open your adoption is, consider getting notes, photos and to answer this question.) Do I have any brothers or sisters? Did my birth family love me?
  3. Why did you decide to adopt? Did you try to have a baby on your own first? Or did you just feel like God was calling you to take in a child who needed you?
  4. Why did you pick me? How did you now I was the one? What were you looking for?
  5. How did you find me? How did you decide which adoption agency to work with? If I was born in a different country, how did you decide to look there? How long did it take to find me?
  6. What did you do while you waited? Did you already have everything ready? Were you scared? Anxious? Excited?
  7. What was it like when we met? Were you excited to get the news? Did you have to travel? What was the trip like? What did you think the first time you saw me? How did I react?
  8. How did you pick my name? Where did it come from? What does it mean? Did I have a different name before? Tell me about it.
  9. What was it like for us all getting used to each other? How did I like my new home? What did I do that you weren’t prepared for? How did I get along with any siblings or pets? Did I warm up to my new family right away or did I make you work for it?!
  10. Will you love me forever? Will you?

For more on Adoption Album see our Creative Memories Ten questions Idea book vol2 and Happy Scrapbooking!!!

Leave a Reply

